From the Not-So-Hatemail Bag….

I got a comment on my blog, recently, from a reader who asked me about how it is to write and live in Utah. She came to my blog from the fabu Joshilyn Jackson’s blog, and I just have to take a minute here to rave about Joss and her books. She is DA BOMB. gods in Alabama is Southern Fiction at its very best, and it has one whammy of an ending. And she’s damn funny, too. Joss’s next book, Between, Georgia, is on my summer MUST READ list. I believe it’s coming out in June, and I CANNOT WAIT. But I have to, so oh well.

On to the comment.

Natalie,
I’m almost done with WIFES & SISTERS! (Read about you on Joshilyn Jackson’s blog) You may have addressed this issue already, but as I read the book, I couldn’t help but wonder what it must be like for you to Write & live in the mormon community. Do you get alot of threats? or worse?
you must be awfully brave. I love your books and hope you have another out soon.
D

Well, D, let me tell you. I don’t get a whole lot of hatemail anymore. Truthfully. I used to get a lot more, but then they must have figured out that I put them on my blog, and make merciless but harmless fun of them, and so they mostly leave me alone now. No death threats recently, either.

Which is odd, considering that the sales numbers of W&S in paperback are HUGE compared to the hardback. I would be expecting them to protest in droves. Picket lines! Book burnings! But then again, there is that whole BLOG thingie, and being made fun of in a merciless but harmless manner. Yeah, let’s stick with that.

So, while I’m not terribly popular, and there’s been a real dearth of funeral potatoes around here, I’m not exactly a pariah. Of course, consider that they don’t KNOW MY REAL NAME! Muwwahhahhhhaaaah. Just kidding. Kind of.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to From the Not-So-Hatemail Bag….

  1. Cele says:

    I am an avid reader of Joss’ blog. The woman is a talented hoot… hmmm, just like our own Natalie. I’m just say in’. But darn the hate mail slow down is making blogdom a tad bit slow. Not that I wish it on you, but, well yeah, it’s slow, and weenie rat face is in hiding so that is less to chat about.

    Like

  2. Cele says:

    Oh, but wasn’t that a killer ending in gods? I loved the whole book and the ending was such a surprising treat. Loved it and am so looking forward to Between, Georgia.

    Like

  3. desi says:

    Thanks Natalie, (if that’s your real name)
    finished the book! and I love it! I can’t wait for BEHIND CLOSED DOORS.
    you give some great insight into mormonism for those of us on the outside. Now I know why my southern baptist preacher grandpa had a true southern hissy fit when my uncle married a mormon! I really am glad they don’t give you as hard a time anymore. After reading your book, WOW, you kinda blow the doors off the temple!
    D

    Like

  4. Kris says:

    Hey Natalie…I promise I’m not avoiding you I am moving so there’s my life in a nutshell. You aren’t getting anymore hatemail???!!! SHOCKING! ..LOL…you want hatemail, I’ll give you hatemail….but it’s addressed to “my neighbour who thinks I can squeeze my minivan past his hummer that is blocking the only exit I have out of my condo complex”. Hehe. I digress…another story completely but did I mention I am moving. SUCKS-ROCKS.

    Hope things are well!
    K.

    Like

  5. Mara says:

    Hi!

    I was doing anti-Mormon research last weekend and stumbled across your blog. I wound up ordering your book, “Wives and Sisters” through Amazon. I’m only 39 pages into it, and I am already having a panic attack. My ex recently got re-married to a woman who was born and raised in the Mormon church in UT, and my 7-year-old daughter is spending “every other weekend” and most of her “summer break” with them–attending the local Mormon church. They actually live in my very own “Hometown” and while I always had friends who were Mormons, I never really knew that much about their beliefs. My mother told me all kinds of things about Mormon-craziness, but since I had never met a Mormon I didn’t like, I really didn’t concern myself much with it. Now that my ex-husband is “converting” and my children are being “exposed,” well, now I’m concerned.

    Much research will ensue…

    Anyhow, wanted to leave a note to explain how I came upon your site and contributed to your royalty income (heh)! I would love to hear more about your own experiences as a little girl in the Mormon church and what you were taught, because the only way I can plan a “counter-attack” is to know what messages my little girl is being fed when she is not with me…

    Like

Leave a Reply

