A Fly on the Wall….Welcome, E. Lockhart

Come on, you know you want to be one. Who hasn’t? Well, maybe not a fly. Those things are GROSS. I mean, have you seen them up close? Those eyes, and those disease-carrying, tentacle thingies… Eeeewiiie. I digress.

Today, the author of a new young adult book, A Fly on the Wall, E. Lockhart has come to visit! And she answered the usual Trapped questions for us. You’ll remember E. from the last time she visited, with her book, The Boyfriend List. So here we go.

If you had to be “Trapped” somewhere, where would it be?

I am quite claustrophobic, which is a bit of what I was writing about in Fly on the Wall, actually. My main character, Gretchen, gets turned into this fly on the wall of the boys’ locker room at her school — she can’t get out, no matter what she does. She can’t figure out how to flip back. She has to just accept it — until something inside her changes, and she can return to human form. I think that struggle to deal with entrapment is a fascinating element in fiction.

I pick my grandmother’s beach house. It is beautiful there and at least there would be a lot of fresh air and sunlight.
Though there are also spiders.

If you could pick your “Trapped” companions, what three people would you want with you, and why?

My family, of course. But let’s pretend they don’t exist.

1) Eddie Izzard. That man makes me laugh so very very much. But unlike David Sedaris (maybe too needy and neurotic) or Margaret Cho (kind of angry), both of whom also crack me up, I feel like Izzard would just make life in the beach house effervescent. It would be Eddie’s job to humanely deposit the spiders somewhere they couldn’t bother me.

2) Anthony Bourdin. I am a food person. Bourdin would cook things involving expensive cheese and tell amusing travel anecdotes.

3) Madonna. She really annoys me, but then I like her again. I would never be bored! I could convert her to my ideas about children’s literature, and by following her exercise routines I would come out of my entrapment quite fit indeed, despite Bourdin’s cooking.

If you could only pick five books to be “Trapped” with, what would they be?

Since I write novels for teenagers, I’ll pick five Young Adult books that warrant reading and rereading:

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton. It is so raw and passionate.

Looking for Alaska by John Green. This book is really introspective and also hugely funny.

Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty. I just think she captures something very true about being young.

Weetzie Bat by Francesca Lia Block. This book is visionary and has crazy style.

Angus, Thongs & Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison. Makes me laugh out loud. Repeatedly.

What ONE famous person would you absolutely NOT want to be “Trapped” with?

Courtney Love. Need I say more?

You can bring three things from your “former” life to “Trapped.” What would those three things be?

A crate of books. A laptop. Really good moisturizer.

Where is one place you absolutely would NOT want to be “Trapped.”

An airplane.

So, there you have it! Great answers from E., and very thought-provoking. I definitely would not want to be trapped ANYWHERE with Courtney Love, so I think she’s on to something. And if you want to learn more about her books, here are some great links.

The website:
http://www.theboyfriendlist.com

A Quiz — “what’s your fly style” made by my publisher. You can enter to win a free copy, too. It’s pretty funny and has animation.
http://www.randomhouse.com/teens/flyonthewall/

Preview Chapter One:
http://www.randomhouse.com/teens/flyonthewall/excerpt.html

Preview the AudioBook:
http://www.theboyfriendlist.com/e_lockhart/files/FlyontheWall.mp3

Blog:
http://www.theboyfriendlist.com/e_lockhart_blog/

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Fly on the Wall….Welcome, E. Lockhart

  1. Thanks for your Trapped interview… 🙂

    Like

  2. F2K says:

    I love your blog . . .

    I’m going to link to your blog, is it all right? Come check mine out as well, I would love to see what you think . . .

    Like

  3. F2K says:

    Cynthia, you’ve a special place on my blog as well . . .

    F2K

    Like

  4. I wish all webmasters should refer to this website before they make theirs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

