Stormy the Wonder Dog Joins a Gang

There are days, and then there are DAYS. Yesterday was a DAY. Possibly a NIGHT AND WEEKEND, too, all rolled into one. I’m sort of burning the candle at both ends, trying to promote WIVES AND SISTERS, just out in paperback (gotcher copy yet?), trying to put the school yearbook to bed (how DID I get roped into this?) and trying to finish my new book for Berkley.

I start my days at about 6 a.m. and they don’t stop until midnight or later. Some are longer than others, and yesterday was one of those. I went out to get the mail at 9 p.m., letting Stormy the Wonder Dog follow along, since peeing on the mail post is one of his most favorite things to do in life. Glorious, glorious post peeing. Somewhere between the trek back to the house and inside is where things get sketchy.

The kids were antsy, the husband was whiny, and I had work to do. After finally calming everything down, getting kids into bed, husband into bed, things straightened up, I spent a few hours on the computer. Then it hit me. Where was Stormy? He was not snoring under my computer chair. He was not crying to go in and out, in and out, in and out. He was, in fact, gone. NOT. HERE.

I had forgotten to commandeer him when we returned from getting the mail, and he took advantage of it and ran off.

So, I put on a coat, and my shoes, and began to trek my neighborhood at 11:30 calling for Stormy. Pumpkin the cat came up and followed me, meowing behind me, and so it must have looked mighty strange. A 43-year-old pajama-clad woman traipsing the burbs at night, followed by a yellow cat. It looked like I was walking my cat. Or he was walking me. When I reached one road, the cat darted ahead of me and veered up another lane, so I decided to follow him, since he seemed to know what he was doing, and I quite obviously had NO idea. Sure enough, there in the middle of the road, halfway up the block, was StWD, surrounded by about three other dogs.

I suspect they had been egging houses, and knocking over mailboxes, and terrorizing the cats of the neighborhood.

Stormy came when I called, but then stopped short, about five feet away and looked at me with that, “Damn, I’m in trouble and you’re taking me home” look. I pretended it was not so, until he got close enough so I could grab him.

I scolded him all the way home, and then had to wash his muddy little butt. Needless to say, he is in DEEP doggy doo doo.

Can’t you just SEE the bad influences oozing off him? Next we might try an exorcism.

psychodog.jpg

W&S SIGHTING CONTEST:
On another note, the W&S Sighting contest is going well, and the book has been spotted all over the United States and in Canada. Apparently, a few copies have also been purchased. Remember you have until the end of April to enter your sighting information. Check out my site for more info.

RADIO INTERVIEW:

I was recently interviewed on Momwriters Talk Radio by the lovely Alana Morales and Paula Schmitt, and you can listen to that interview here. It was great fun, and I hope I didn’t come off sounding TOOO much like an idiot.

http://www.momwriterstalkradio.com/

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stormy the Wonder Dog Joins a Gang

  1. Cele says:

    Why is it our loving pets always chose the most in opportune times to go awol? You at least have a dog you can pick up and carry home. I thought “oh, I want a basset hound, that is lazy as I am.” NO ONE told me they are rambuncous in the first two or three years of life, the laziness only kicks in at night when he thinks he’s a lap dog.

    A VERY LARGE LAP DOG ON SHORT LEGS THAT WEIGHTS 70 POUNDS.

    Very nice interview on Mom Writers Radio Natalie. You sounded sure, warm, and collected. An interesting interview.

    Like

  2. Caryn says:

    Glad to hear you got him back. That must have been scary and frustrating. No wonder yesterday was a DAY.

    Like

  3. Laua L says:

    I have a cat that ‘goes for walks’. He also waits for the school bus in the morning, then freaks out when it actually comes near. Great interview, btw. And I’m going to talk hubby into stopping at the book store this afternoon to get my copy of Wives & Sisters.

    Like

  4. Howy says:

    My last dog was particularly tasty. It was my first introduction to liquid smoke. That stuff can make anything taste great!

    Howy

    Like

  5. Natalie says:

    Howy, you are a sick and twisted man.

    Laua (Is that supposed to be Laura?), make sure you enter the Wives and Sisters Sighting contest!

    Cele, I used to have a Rottie. I could NOT have picked her up.

    And Caryn, thanks for the concern about Stormy. I’m telling you, that dog and those two children are going to be the death of me.

    Like

  6. Howy says:

    What?! It was a hot dog.

    ManIcantcatchabreakfrigginwomenyellinatmeallthetimeItellyaitsenough
    tomakeaguywishhewasonanotherplanetwithonlyprosandasetofgolfclubs
    nowthatwouldbeutopiayeahthat . . .

    Howy

    Like

Leave a Reply

