The Gay Cowboy

GayCowboy.jpg

For your perusing pleasure today, I present a piece of art on the Brokeback Mountain controversy, drawn by my good friend Tim Brinton, a nationally syndicated artist, former Tribune employee, and, like me, a Trappee. In fact, just this week, as he received a “locator” letter sent to his Southern California home, he actually ACCUSED moi of ratting on him. Moi? Can you imagine? I’m not exactly best buds with the Mormon bigwigs.

I suppose it’s entirely possible that Tim supposes that since I cannot get out, NO ONE ELSE should be able to get out, either.

Hey, you know, there is a wonderful twisted logic to that…..

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Gay Cowboy

  1. azteclady says:

    Firstly, thank you so much for the bellylaugh! Secondly, great cartoon!!!

    Like

  2. Del says:

    Hey Natalie!
    It is possible to escape from Utah!
    It took going into the military to do it but, I did it.
    This whole controversy about the movie “Brokeback Mountain” is just wierd. It’s not the first movie to play in Utah with a strong Gay theme. How come none of those were banned?
    Utah has a history of banning things. The movie “Porky’s” was banned from Happy Valley er.. I mean Orem/Provo, some years ago. Now a movie like “Porkys” can play anywhere in Utah. Also, sometime in the early 70’s, Alice Cooper was banned from Salt Lake County. Instead of seeing the concert in the Salt Palace, we had to go to Bonneville Speedway (I think that is/was the name of it), outside the County, to see the evil rocker and his band.
    Oh, by the way, I finally got a copy of your book “Wives and Sisters”. I have read over half of it since Friday. It’s great. I can barely put it down. I love the characters and the setting (I grew up in Davis County).
    Thanks for bringing some of the seamy side of Utah to life!
    v/r
    Del

    Like

  3. Cele says:

    Love the ribbon – thank you Tim Brinton.

    I look forward to seeing Brokeback Mountain – I work with a bunch of Non-Mormon DJ’s who do nothing but crack jokes about this movie. I want to know what they are so friggin’ afraid of? I’m sure neither of them would have problems with Debbie Does Dallas or But I’m A Cheerleader, two movies that are much more…errrr…graphic

    Like

  4. Bob says:

    Hey Cele, can I borrow your copy of BUT I’m A Cheerleader, I haven;t seen that one and feel it is my duty to judge all movies fairly. lol.

    Ol Bob

    Like

Leave a Reply

