Andi Buchanan is the IT girl…

…at least as far as I am concerned. I was indulging in one of my favorite pasttimes–reading US Weekly magazine for my celeb fix–when I happened upon a QUOTE by Andi! She is too cool for words.

Evidently, she’s become the “go-to” girl when it comes to quotes from moms. Well, hey, I get that. After all, she is the managing editor of Literary Mama, the author of MOTHERSHOCK: LOVING EVERY OTHER MINUTE OF IT, and editor of a bazillion (or so) anthologies.

Here’s Andi’s official bio from her Web site:

Andrea J. Buchanan, managing editor of the online magazine Literary Mama, is a writer living in Philadelphia. She is the author of Mother Shock: Loving Every (Other) Minute of It (Seal Press 2003) and the editor of three anthologies: It’s a Boy: Women Writers on Raising Sons (Seal Press, Nov. 2005); Literary Mama: Reading for the Maternally Inclined (Seal Press, Jan. 2006); and It’s a Girl: Women Writers on Raising Daughters (Seal Press, May 2006). Her work has been featured in The Christian Science Monitor, Parents and Nick Jr. magazines, and in the collections Breeder: Real Life Stories from the New Generation of Mothers (Seal Press, 2001), Your Children Will Raise You: The Joys, Challenges, and Life Lessons of Motherhood (Trumpeter, 2005), The Imperfect Mom: Candid Confessions of Mothers Living in the Real World (Broadway, 2006), and About What Was Lost: 20 Writers on Miscarriage (Plume, 2006). Her syndicated column runs on various websites. Before becoming a mother, Andrea was a classical pianist; she studied at the Boston Conservatory of Music, where she earned her bachelor of music degree, and continued her graduate studies at the San Francisco Conservatory, earning a master’s degree in piano performance. Her last recital was at Carnegie Hall’s Weill Recital Hall, back before she knew how to play the theme from “Elmo’s World.” You can read more about her adventures in motherland in her blog.

She’s on tour right now, so if you get a chance to look her up in your city, I’d recommend you do so. Remember, she is the IT girl…..

 

 

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Andi Buchanan is the IT girl…

  1. Way to GO, Nat! This is gorgeous! Got it bookmarked. I’m having a whole new website built by a pro (thank God) and on it I’ll have my very first blog. Should go live this month sometime. Meantime, I love what your designer has done here, it’s really beautiful, and I’ll be following along. Cheers and Hugs, Beth

    Like

  2. Natalie says:

    Beth,

    Very cool! Make sure to let me know when you go live! And thanks for the comments. Justin did an AWESOME job. I’d recommend him to anyone.

    Like

  3. Jess Riley says:

    Hi Natalie! I LOVE this blog design! I just set up my own blog in November and I can’t wait to redesign it once I set up my website. (Got the domain reserved already, but not for my full name–because that’s already in use by a hooker in Las Vegas! Just my luck.) I’m going to add your site to my links.

    (Incidentally, my forthcoming roadtrip novel features a few stops in Utah. 🙂

    Like

  4. Natalie says:

    Damn those hookers! They snatch up ALL the good domain names….. Good luck with the novel, Jess. And thanks for visiting and your kind comments.

    Like

Leave a Reply

