Blogging with Tom and Holly…

Tom Barberi has long been known as “Utah’s Voice of Reason,” and God knows we need one. He’s moved around a bit, of course, because in Utah, we are NOT reasonable people. At least most of us. Tom has landed at 97.5 FM Talk, where he has a show from 12 to 2 p.m., and Holly Braithwaite is his co-host and producer.

Tom had a column at The Salt Lake Tribune, back when it was still an independent newspaper and not the Deseret News II, but those days are gone. Did I mention the Deseret News is owned by the Mormon Church? I’m not even going to begin to go into the shenanigans pulled by LDS Inc. in order to get editorial control over The Trib, but through some very shifty manuevering they finally managed to pull it off. Thus, the new moniker, Des News II. Of course, that’s just my moniker for them. But The Trib is independent no more, no matter WHAT they claim.

Annnnyway, I discovered (all right, like most things, I did not DISCOVER it. It fell into my lap, because Holly posted a comment on my blog.) that Tom and Holly are blogging! Yup, it’s true. And very amusingly, too. I’m adding it to my must-read blogs.

Check it out!

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Blogging with Tom and Holly…

  1. Clint Taylor says:

    Holly,
    I’m going to be in town this summer…call or email me when you can!
    Clint Taylor(former colleague from Employerweb/Access)
    taylorclint@hotmail.com
    512-762-2622

    Like

  2. Lesley Clark says:

    Hi, I just moved out from behind the Mormon curtain in Rexburg. I am writing a letter to the LDS church to remove my name from the roles. I had the exact thought you did. Make sure you allow yourself as many virgins as possible in a revelation and then to keep Emma in line, (as she appeared to have some mind of her own ) just state God spoke with you and will destroy her if she does not obey the mighty Joseph. I am including something to that effect in my letter. Reasons for leaving the Mormon Machine: Inequality for Women, Church’s position on Homosexuality, You can’t get a drink in Rexburg, the list goes on. Really, I find most of what LDS stands for as abhorrent. I love your Blog

    Like

  3. Natalie says:

    Hi Lesley!

    Thanks for hanging out here at Trapped! We’re glad you joined us!

    Like

  4. John says:

    I am desperately looking for information about what happened to the Tom Barberi show, and 97.5 talk radio. I am guessing they just permently changed their format, but I would hope to find Tom Barberi with a show again somewhere. Does anyone have any info on this?

    Like

  5. Deanna says:

    So where is Tom Barberi’s Blog? When I click on the link provided here, it goes to “skype”.

    So I googled and found this:
    http://www.kued.org/productions/utahnow/people/tom_barberi/

    but it hasn’t been updated since July.

    Any updated info? Thanks!
    Deanna

    Like

  6. Darrel Hanzon says:

    Tom,
    I remember you being and old football Jock. I believe you played linbacker
    at San Jose State. I also remember you and I played in a U.Of U alumni game.
    Anyway I digress. We need help telling this communitiy about our annual
    Utah High School Football All Star Game. Its going to be on June 23 at
    Judge Memorial Catholic High School. 4:00pm for 1A-2A vs 3A and 7:30PM
    for 4A vs 5A. Judge has a new Turf field and it should be a great day for football.
    So as one old jock to another if you get a chance would you put in a plug for the game. Lastley it’s great is hear you back on radio. Darrel hanzon Sec Utah Football Coaches Association.

    Like

  7. Tom Barberi says:

    To one and all……thanks for the kind words and I have GREAT NEWS

    Like

  8. Tom Barberi says:

    To one and all……thanks for the kind words and I have GREAT NEWS.

    KALL RADIO LIVES!!!!

    We are in the process of bringing KALL 700 back with my morning show, 6 to 10 and the rest of the programming under construction which will includ of course U of U sports and Real Salt Lake. Stay tuned……………

    Tom Barberi
    “The Voice of Reason”

    Like

Leave a Reply

