Mormons on NBC

I was contacted last week by a representative from NBC, who asked me to help them find some good Mormons to follow around for a couple of days, for a segment they were doing on religion in America.

Yes, I do mean THAT NBC, and no, I was not hallucinating.

Not only did they want good Mormons, but they wanted someone preferably in “authority, like a bishop.”

“Um, you do know I’m not their favorite person, right?” I asked.

“Yes, I gathered that from your blog,” the representative said, with a laugh.

“Okay, well, I do know lots of good Mormon families. I’ll line some up for you.”

Now here’s where the funny part comes in. See, most of you, lots of you, assume I hate Mormons. I get hatemail every DAY assuming I hate Mormons, and want to see them portrayed in the worst light.

Wrong. I don’t hate Mormons. I happen to be a wanna-be-ex-Mormon-who-can’t-get-out who finds the tenets ridiculous, and the whole Joseph Smith story ludicrous at best, and sheer fantasy at worst. Much of Mormon culture amuses the GOSH DARN HECK outta me.

But I don’t hate the people. And I don’t think MOST of the people are bad. Are there problems? Yup. Are there problems caused specifically by Church leaders, and the dictates they make? Yup again. Are there benefits? Of course. Do I know some really cool Mormons? Duh! (Sorry. Those teenagers I’m with every day again. They are WARPING my brain.)

So, I set about finding NBC the best gosh-darned Mormons around. And I think I succeeded. Shooting starts tomorrow. The Mormons are alternately excited and nervous.

I first talked to Carly, my best friend’s sister-in-law. She gave me her dad’s phone numbers, but not before asking “Are you setting me up? You hate Mormons.”

Sigh.

I do NOT hate Mormons. I am not setting anyone up. NBC wants good Mormons. If I hated Mormons, I’d find the bad Mormons–and they are OUT there–and have them follow them, but that’s not what they asked for. I’m not that kind of person.

So I talked to Carly’s dad, and he was really cool, and excited about the opportunity, so I gave NBC his phone numbers. And I heard through the grapevine later (Because all I did was FIND the Mormons. My work is down now. They aren’t even promoting my book! How rude.) that the Church okayed it. No surprise there. These are awesome, good, people, who just happen to believe something I find silly. It doesn’t make them BAD people. They are very good people.

And I do NOT hate Mormons!! And I am NOT setting them up.

Sigh. Stay tuned for more Mormons on NBC….

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

