My Friend Hilton

Some of you may remember when I rather scathingly dismissed Hilton Harris’s letter to the Editor of The Salt Lake Tribune.

I wasn’t particularly nice. Matter of fact, I pretty much ripped him to shreds. Well, today, I discovered THIS comment on my guestbook, in between entries promising to give me long-lasting erections and introduce me to horny housewives waiting to…. Well, you get the picture. Spam entries.

I loved the blog you wrote on may 29 about the op-ed piece I had published in the trib “church has rights too”. It was really funny.
I’m actuall kind of flattered that my piece made enough of an impact on you for you to write a blog about it.
You’re a great writer. I had never heard of you before I stumbled onto your blog. I’m going to buy a copy of your book.
Thanks again,
Hilton

Now, if I am to take this message at face value, Hilton isn’t mad at me. Whodathunkit? I, of course, know how easy it is to pretend to be something you aren’t, at least on the Internet. You think you’re exchanging emails with the next love of your life, Carlo, 29, retired-cabana-boy-turned-media-mogul (it could happen!) and instead, you get Clyde, 400-pound ex-convict with a farmer tan and beady eyes.

So, I’m not convinced this is really Hilton. But hey, if it is, thanks for writing, Hilton! Glad I made you feel good. I hope you like the book.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

