Hangin' with the Cajuns….

As I know I’ve mentioned, I spent last weekend in Louisiana, where I was a guest of the Writers Guild of Acadiana in Lafayette.

It was a quick trip–too quick–but they still managed to show me a fabulous time and even seemed interested in what I had to say about agents and editors, in two different sessions. We had dinner at a fabulous restaurant called Prejeans, where I ate frog legs–“tastes like chicken”–and alligator, which tasted like sausage (sorry to disappoint the “tastes like chicken” folks).
Thanks to Deborah LeBlanc, Sharon Bledell, Debbie Gonzalez, John Francois, and all the other members of the Acadiana Writers Guild for having me!

*****
Now, for a new feature: Blog-Bytes. Little snippets of information I gather while whoring around the blog world.

Author Katie MaCalister, notes a contest where you can come up with the caption of a New Yorker cartoon, and win a signed print.

Heather B. Armstrong is on national television again, and it seems the media just can’t get enough of HER or her blog. Me either. She’s a must read. The most recent post recounts what it is like to have the Good Morning America crew in her home. Funny stuff.

Joshilyn Jackson is home again (I think) from her exhaustive book tour, and blogging on what it is like to be THE HOUSE where the kids want to hang out, because, and I get THIS bigtime, when one asks the question, “Where are the kids?” how cool is it to answer, “IN THE BASEMENT.” This works well for my neurotic mind. I also scanned her Web site, which I haven’t been able to do because the damned hard drive crashed, and I had strep throat, and then the tire blew on the freeway while I was doing 65, and then I flew to Lousisiana–oh, and I can’t scan her Web site at work because the God-control box thinks her site is occult–AND I FOUND OUT SHE HAS A COMMERCIAL FOR GODS IN ALABAMA.

I left a comment on her blog. It said, “I hate you.” Now I have to apologize. Because I really don’t hate Joss. It’s just that GEM (green evil monster) sitting on my shoulder, the one that is angry because my tour and promotion existed of a bus ride to Tooele Army Depot(where they make scary chemical weapons) and a bunch of ARCs.

Good thing I loved gods in Alabama, or I might be looking for a tall bridge somewhere….

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

