Latter-day Saint And/Or…. I'm an And…Or maybe an OR?

I’m gonna start this post off with an explanation. I have two books available. One is SisterWife, a good title, a decent book, but one that no New York publisher chose to buy. So a small independent (read POD) publisher bought it, and through that sale, I caught the eye of MY editor, at St. Martin’s Press. She asked to see the book I had just written, called Outer Darkness. She bought it. They then retitled it. Guess what they called it? Yep, Wives and Sisters. So now I have SisterWife and Wives and Sisters for sale.

(FYI: Despite its timeliness, with the whacko fundamentalist Mormon polygamist leader and his end-of-the-world doomsday claims, comparable to Warren Jeffs of the FLDS religion, SisterWife is only available for two more weeks, and then it will disappear into the Netherworld. I have not continued my contract with the POD publisher. It’s a good book, but it’s my first book. Time to move on.)

I just wanted to clarify that I am NOT title-challenged. I know people wonder. So there you have it.

After I wrote my first book, and began searching for a publisher, I also ventured out and applied for employment with the Sundance Film Festival. That worked out okay, and I worked as an editor for the 2001 and 2002 Sundance Film Festivals, which is seasonal work. Fun work. CRAZY work. Middle-of-the-night-deadline, you-cannot-possibly-find-this-anywhere-else-in-Utah work. Because of that job, I recently found my name on a list of Latter-day Saint And/Or Utah filmmakers. Odd. Really odd. I’m have no problem imagining myself an And/Or, because I sure don’t fit into the other category (LDS), but I’m not a filmmaker. I DID work for the Sundance Film Festival, but, alas, it was as an EDITOR! As in writing, people! Editing. Fixing typos, misspellings, dangling participles, etc. All that good stuff. Thanks to my work there, I did have the opportunity to serve as a filmmaker liasion, and I did rub shoulders with some celebs, including the lovely and fabulous Christine Lahti, Mary Kay Place, Albert Brooks, and the incredibly handsome Billy Wirth, but mostly, I EDITED. I did have a few people ask to read my book, SisterWife, which at the time was my only book, but not a whole lot came of that. Obviously. Oh, the glamour! Cabana boy, bring me my champagne!

Actually the truth is, I found it ODD that this SITE, www.ldsfilm.com, would deign to mention me at all. Most of the time, the LDS crowd spends hours wanting to poke pins in my eyes. Or disavowing me. Or crowing over the ONE (can you read, ONLY ONE) bad review of Wives and Sisters. They don’t spend a lot of time claiming me as one of their own.

Well, now they have. Sort of. On this site.

Natalie R. Collins
Latter-day Saint (Raised as a Latter-day saint, now disaffected and a non-churchgoer). Would-be movie author. Wrote a novel titled Outer Darkness, about her upbringing in a Latter-day Saint home and why she doesn’t like Latter-day Saints any more. Served as an editor for the Sundance Film Festival in 2001 and 2002. Said that through Sundance she met people interested in screenplay rights to another book she wrote: SisterWife, about “Fundamentalist” Mormons practicing polygamy, a practice banned by the Church in the late 1800s.

Of course, my first instinct was to scream BITE ME at the top of my lungs. Disaffected???? Disaffected means discontented as toward authority. Of course, to be disaffected toward authority, means I would HAVE TO CONSIDER THE MORMON CHURCH MY AUTHORITY, which we all know I don’t. So that definition doesn’t really work for me. Oh well.

Would-be movie author? Of course my books have been shopped in Hollywood. That’s par for the course, people. Is this their attempt to make me appear a “has been?” “Well, she tried, folks, but it JUST didn’t work, because she is an apostate and we ALL know what happens to apostates! Their brains shrivel up and wither away, and they either come back or hide in their houses for the rest of their lives because THEY KNOW THE CHURCH IS TRUE, and that WE ARE RIGHT, THEY ARE WRONG, and they really shouldn’t leave THE CHURCH because someone insulted them.”

This killed me. “…why she doesn’t like Latter-day Saint any more”? Are these people MORONS? I mean, I know they are Mormons, with the extra M, but I like a whole LOT of Latter-day Saints. I just don’t believe the Mormon Church is the only true CHURCH and that all the others are “…an abomination in his sight…” Thanks for the quote, Joseph Smith, Jr.

This stuff can be very tiring. I do not DISLIKE Mormons, as in, the people that believe in Mormonism. At least, not as a rule. I just don’t believe, like you do, that it is the ONLY TRUE THING in life. Mormons can be great people. Most of them are very nice. I don’t really agree with their beliefs, but they feel the same way about me. We just agree to disagree and move on. Unfortunately, as a whole, Mormons can’t do that.

Thus, my blog. Trapped by the Mormons. Do you REALLY have to ask WHY I am writing this?

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

