Straight to Hell with Kathleen O'Reilly

If one goes by the profuse amount of hate mail I get from Mormons, I am going STRAIGHT to hell, and there ain’t no handbasket included in the deal. Well, as long as I’m going, at least I’ll be in good company, as my guest today, author Kathleen O’Reilly offers up her book, The Diva’s Guide to Selling Your Soul, as a guest of this unholy blog.

Call me V. I used to be a nobody, just a girl from New Jersey who was probably going to hell anyway–or worse, mediocrity and a size 14. Now I get whatever I desire just by casting a little spell . . . a flawless body, a luxury penthouse, and a Fifth Avenue shop where rich women clamor for my overpriced handbags. Even better, I have power. I can taunt my ex-husband, break hearts without guilt, and love every minute of it. My secret? I lost the one thing I never needed in the first place: my soul. I sold it. And you’ll never guess who’s got it now.

Hmmmmm. I’ll play, I’ll play. Jerry Springer? Dr. Phil? Lost and found?

I LOVE the premise of O’Reilly’s novel, which strikes to the core of every uptown girl. Love, beauty, success–all can be so fleeting, and so hard to find. What if all you had to do was strike a deal, and it all became yours?

Although…is the DEVIL really the DEVIL I’ve always known as Satan, with a capital S, not to be confused with Santa, as the severely dyslexic sometimes do. Speaking of which, am I the ONLY person who has ever noticed that Santa and Satan have EXACTLY the same letters in them? Oh, I’m so easily sidetracked.

Back to O’Reilly’s novel. I’ve always had my suspicions about just WHO might be masquerading as the Devil in these Latter-Days, but I never would have suspected a gossip columnist. But hey, it makes sense. I bet Jennifer Aniston and Julia Roberts would back up that theory!

So, let’s all go out and buy Kathleen’s book. It sounds like great fun and Lord knows we can all use an amusing read. Life is too short without humor, and O’Reilly has plenty of it to go around.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

