Making a List, Checking it Twice….

No, it’s not Christmas again, even though Utah has seen some very wicked, very nasty weather this past week. Easter is just around the corner, and although spring SHOULD be here, I sure haven’t seen much sign of it.

So, what’s a girl to do but read? And since Emily Lockhart, author of The Boyfriend List, has a fun young adult novel out, I’ve had plenty of material to peruse.

The heroine of Lockhart’s book, Ruby, is a charming, neurotic, and uniquely created character. Since my own daughters are entering their teens, and despite the fact I’ve seen the last of my thirties, I still found a lot to relate to in Lockhart’s Ruby.

In fact, anyone who has ever known a teenage girl, lived next door to a teenage girl, and especially those who have BEEN teenage girls, will find something they like about Ruby.

Here’s an excerpt from the first of the book.

WHAT HAPPENED, YOU WANT TO KNOW?

In the same ten days I —
lost my boyfriend (boy #13)
lost my best friend
lost all my other friends
learned gory details about my now-ex boyfriend’s sexual adventures
did something shockingly advanced with boy #15
did something suspicious with boy #10
had an argument with boy #14
drank my first beer
got caught by my mom
lost a lacrosse game
failed a math test
hurt Meghan’s feelings
became a leper
and became a famous slut.
Enough to give anyone panic attacks, right?
I was so overwhelmed by the horror of the whole debacle that I had to skip school for a day to read mystery novels, cry, and eat spearmint jelly candies.

Skipping school for an entire day to read mystery novels, cry and eat spearming jelly candies? I REALLY like this girl.

Don’t miss The Boyfriend List, and watch for my review of it in ReadersRoom.com, running on April 1.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

