Put that Thing Away! Do You Want to Scare the Neighbors?

While winding through my massive amounts of backlogged email, I came across one that pointed out two interesting Web sites. Both of these sites were selling the “sealed portion” of the Book of Mormon. Goody. See, I guess when Joseph Smith, Jr., was “translating” the Book of Mormon (I think he was really sleeping with his head stuck in that hat), there was a portion–the “sealed” portion of the book–that God would not allow him to see or translate.

The time wasn’t right. Or Emma tried to sneak a peek at the plates. Or something like that…. Please don’t ask me for exact details. I’m not in the mood to go searching for them, so if I’m wrong, I’m wrong.

But apparently, at least according to some people, that portion is NOW unsealed. And for sale, too! When I did a Google search, I found a couple MORE “prophets” hawking THEIR version of the sealed portion.

Of course, my immediate reaction was not to get on my knees and pray for the burning bosom that would tell me which one of these “sealed portions” was THE true one.

I think we’ve already established I’m not much of a burning bosom kinda girl. More like a burning bra kinda girl. Yep, because upon learning about the “sealed portion,” my reaction was, “There is MORE of this dreck out there? AUUUGGGGH.”

I’ll make my own prophecy RIGHT here and now. OPENING the SEALED PORTION is not a good idea. There was a reason that God sealed those portions. I figure they were written by the not-quite-ready-for-prime-time-prophet. Which doesn’t say much for their quality, since the part that DID make it into the book needs a really good editor and some major rewriting. Don’t be offended Mormon. I know you tried, really, but writing well is hard.

Resist the temptation. Live on the edge. We’ve lived some 200-odd years without this knowledge. Do we REALLY need it now?

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Put that Thing Away! Do You Want to Scare the Neighbors?

  1. Aaron says:

    Your absoulutly right! who needs a stinken book to know truth. yes it might be helpfull to some but it just seems all of these books or in other words creeds, create inequality, judgement, hate, and pride. People want to be happy not miserable. So, let’s use our common sense and reasonable thinking on how to just get along with each other in the world. simpe one rule, treat others as we would want to be treated. period. but that’s just my opinion. think about it if you want. the truth is suppose to set us free not bind us with more rules that seem so pointless in making any change in the world or ones self. If there is a Sealed Portion then those who decide to read let read, if some one doesn’t think they need a Sealed Portion then use the gift that “God” gave all man kind, a Common Sense.

    Like

Leave a Reply

