What, They Don't LIKE My Book?

It is little surprise to anyone that my book is not terribly popular among the Saints, even though the majority of those who are dissing it have not even read it, and probably never will.

After the Salt Lake Tribune panned it, many quickly jumped on the bandwagon to condemn it, and crow about the bad review, even though it is the ONLY bad review the book has received. Out of more than 25 reviews, mind you.

I found this on a Mormon blog, which discussed The Tribune review and the review in the Indy Star, both of which ran the same day. I’m sure you don’t need rocket science to determine which review the blogger is siding with.

However, that is not my point. I found this statement interesting.

Look. I don’t care if you are ex-Mo, Orthodox Mormon or whatever. Somebody write a nuanced, interesting, sophisticated novel with a certain measure of literary value to it and find some eastern publisher publish it. At this point, all we have in recent years is — what? The Miracle Life of Edgar Mint? Very good novel. But that was almost four years ago. It’s time for the national publishers to step up to the plate again.

How would you possibly know whether or not my novel is bad? You have not read it. You are basing your assumption on ONE BAD REVIEW, and ignoring all the other good reviews. My question to the Motley Blogger is why don’t you READ the book first before condemning it? Or, gee, would that make sense? You are basing your comments on TWO reviews. The only one you are giving credence is the BAD Salt Lake Tribune review. How’s that for biased?

What this person is saying, basically, is that until the “New York” publishers portray the Mormons the way the Mormons want to be portrayed, they will cry foul.

Mormonism is a strange culture. If you walk away, you are expected to just SHUT UP and leave it alone. God forbid you might write about a less than positive experience. SHUT UP. Leave it.

And yet….

They are allowed to traipse the globe and knock on doors, telling people that they have THE ONLY ONE TRUTH.

What does that sound like?

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What, They Don't LIKE My Book?

  1. Let me get this straight – IF you leave/get released/are excommunicated, you are not allowed to speak of your experience? Even alien abductees TALK about their time on the ship. Even the Iranian hostages TALK about their time being held against their will. Even former Catholics discuss their conversion to Protestant faith – heck, even Jewish people who find Jesus talk about their former beliefs. What makes the Mormons exempt from an AMERICAN right? Hmm, I’m hearing the humming of We Shall Overcome.

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    It’s called hypocrisy.

    And it is at its finest among the TBM’s.

    It’s embarassing to admit I was once that way.

    Natalie, I enjoy your blog. I look forward to reading your book.

    Like

  3. PotterChick says:

    ok, I have not read your book, but by the way you are talking you hate mormons. Why? Did we hurt you? Did you fell pain that a mormon gave you? I mean if so, geton with life people make mistakes i am sure they ae sorry but if not, why do you hate me? I am mormon, do you hate me? I find that being angry and writing and posting mean things about ones religion is rude and cruel and right now I am angry but I will calm down and read out of the Book of Mormon, I will pray and I will have peace. To you, I say you might think about reading the Book of Mormon and praying and by the way, I have a testimony of this chrch, a strong one at that. And I am not even in highschool yet and I know this church is true and I know it is the true church, the only true church.

    Like

  4. Natalie says:

    It ain’t about you, Jordyn. I don’t hate you. I don’t even know you. I don’t like THE MORMON CHURCH. It has nothing to do with the people who belong to it.

    Good luck reading out of the Book of Mormon. It will help. It will put you to sleep, and you can take a nice nap, and when you wake up, you won’t be mad any more.

    Like

  5. George says:

    It would appear that potterchick is a good example of mormonism. Not even in high school and she knows it is the one true church. I also like how they all have a strong testimony, but you never hear it. Well girlie you belong to the Church Of Looney and appear to be another victim of the fantasy world of joe smith. I end lest I bloviate beyond nessecity.

    Like

Leave a Reply

