A Heartfelt Letter from a "Marman" Bishopric Guy

I know I mentioned I get lots of emails and anonymous comments on my blog. You can see them for yourself, if you have the time.

This was from a former “marman” bishopric guy. I can’t be specific what his job was, because he didn’t say.

You say you can’t win with Mormons. I disagree. I’ll tell you how you can win:

Accept that fact that good, sincere people have a heartfelt, genuine, unshakeable faith in the LDS religion that enriches their lives immeasurably. Accept that this faith is often the result of experiences that, whatever you may believe, are defined by those who have them as “spiritual” and are as deeply felt as any human experiences can be.

I don’t mind that you aren’t Mormon, or that you don’t believe Joseph Smith was a prophet. I won’t try to tell you you’re wrong, or deceived, or whatever. I won’t try to tell you you can’t find peace outside the LDS church. You need to make up your own mind about these things. And I respect your decision.

I’m a mamber of a bishopric. I deal with name removals on a regular basis. I wish individuals who leave nothing but peace and happiness in whatever path they take. I am sad that my religious affiliation with them has come to an end when they leave the church, but my feelings shouldn’t be their burden to bear, so I keep them to myself.

It’s my sincere hope that anyone who leaves the LDS church does so with a clear conscience and a sense of peace and relief, knowing that they have made the right decision. And I hope that they bear no ill will toward the church.

I’m saddened by your angry, mocking criticisms of Mormons. If you could let down your guard, you would realize that many Mormons find their religious experiences pure, true, and valuable beyond measure. And you’d understand that your anger and disbelief doesn’t make their religion any less real, beautiful, or meaningful to them. And you’d be happy for them, for the peace that they’ve found, and move on with your life, finding your own peace your own way.

I wish you the best and hope you find happiness. Want to know how you can “win” with the Mormons? Wish us the same.

Dear Marm:

I’m sorry you’re saddened. Really, it is not my wish to sadden you. I know that many Mormons find their religious experiences all of the above things you mentioned. And, as I’ve mentioned MORE THAN ONCE in the past, I would be happy to leave all things Mormon behind. However, since Mormonism is clinging to me with the force of a many-tentacled octopus-like space creature–you know, the kind you see on horror movies–it simply isn’t possible for me to leave it alone.

I would really like to move on, and for the most part, I have. The Mormons around me, however, will not leave me be. They come to my house and leave fliers. They send the missionaries. They try to lure my children into religious activities, under the guise of “not being left out.” They refused my request to remove my name from their records, and created imaginary children for me. They send me videotapes and popcorn and church quotes at Christmas time.

They attempt to control and legislate all the laws in my home state. They are slowly buying up all the land in one of the only cities in Utah–Salt Lake City–where there is not a Mormon majority, in an attempt to take over that place, too. They even bought Main Street in downtown SLC. Crazy, huh?

They send thousands of young people all over the world to tell everyone else the Mormon Church is true, and yet would deny me the opportunity to say I believe it is not true–oh, just like you. Leave it alone?

When the Mormons keep to themselves, in places OTHER than the Mormon Temple, then I shall do the same.

Until then, I shall blog.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Heartfelt Letter from a "Marman" Bishopric Guy

  1. Anonymous says:

    Exactly. Mormons want to say they are “the only True Church on the face of the earth,” and they have a “True and Living Prophet,” but don’t want anyone to reveal any of their little secrets or real, unvarnished history. Nor do they wish anyone to report that they may have had a less than stellar experience in the Only True church.

    They have to realize that it goes both ways–if they want to proselyte and make great claims about the church, they have to be willing to accept criticism. Sheesh, why is this so hard for them to understand?

    Like

  2. Otremer says:

    Umm, could you tell me whether or not the Book of Mormon is listed as fiction or nonfiction over at Amazon? Is it supposed to be historical or is it considered an inspired Lord of the Rings?

    I understand that at least one Mormon apologist has come out and admitted that the Book of Mormon can not be defended as history though he maintains it is still Divinely inspired. I guess that would put the Book of Mormon on equal footing with Aesop’s Fables (though Aesop’s Fables often have a more positive moral). Anyone taking bets on how long before he gets a visit from the Dannites?

    Like

Leave a Reply

