Now I'm a NAZI?

Now I’m getting mail from a Mormon who is pretending to be a non-Mormon friend of Mormons who is really pissed off that I’m picking on the Mormons. Can you follow that? Me either. Because we all know that the only person who thinks I am being MEAN to the Mormons is the Mormons.

The rest of the world hasn’t made the leaps my new “friend” has made, such as presuming to know anything at all about me based on what little I have provided on my Web site.

Today’s message said this:

I’m sorry you feel the need to attack a religion that has obviously “wronged” you in your long, incredibly hard life. Yeah, life can be soooo challenging, and people still manage to move on and not bitch about it. Suck it up. If Mormonism is as bad as you make it out to be, why is it one of the fastest growing religions in the world? I might not be Mormon, or agree with a specific sect, but I have plenty of friends that are religious, that have never forced their beliefs on me. You must have a lot of hate in your heart to write the way you do. You would have made a great German Nazi, prosecuting the Jews… because that’s exactly how you sound. Have a lovely day!

Um, where did I complain about my long, hard life? Who the hell you calling old? My life has not been THAT long. Sheesh.

Look, Mormon-friend-pretending-to-be-non-Mormon, I’m a writer. That is what I do. It’s all fine and well for you to not write about your life and get on with it, but that’s what I do! I write. I get paid for it. I’m not bitching about my life. I’m talking about the silly things that happen around me. That’s what writers do. I never said these people were doing these things to ME!

I am a former Mormon who still lives in Utah, and that’s what I write about. Get used to it.

I really don’t have much hate in my heart. Not even for you. Rather, I find it amusing that you have made such assumptions about me based on a few posts in a blog. As for why the LDS Church is one of the fastest-growing church in the world, go read my story Trapped by the Mormons, and all will suddenly become remarkably clear. You will have a vision, complete with bright light, and a burning in the bosom of awesome proportions.

Church Growth=bad math
or
Church Growth=poor clerical records

One can’t really claim such astonishing growth, unless one bothers to also quote retention.

As for the Nazi comment, well, obviously, you are trying to find something that will really chap my hide until I react to your ridiculous claims and namecalling.

However, if I were Jewish, it would give me just ONE MORE THING to be pissed off at Mormons about. Not only are they secretly baptizing dead Jews as Mormons, despite having been asked repeatedly to stop, but now they think that someone’s blog that mentions they don’t really AGREE with Mormonism is comparable to cooking someone in a gas chamber.

Methinks somebody is a hamburger short of a Happy Meal.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Now I'm a NAZI?

  1. Anonymous says:

    I would have to say your web page and what you’re saying does sound kind of like you’re trying to get everyone that reads it to hate a specific religion…at least that would be the feeling I get when reading it. Why don’t you attack the Jewish religion? (because it’s already been done?) the Catholics? (Because they have enough child molestation cases going on at the moment?) etc.?
    Making one web page in “protest” against those that which you “hate” kind of sounds very much like the 1940’s movement in Germany. (do you hate Mormons, or just dislike religion in general?) Do you like to attack in your responses back, every person that writes in? Have you ever agreed with anyone’s email, who didn’t praise you and your ideas?
    Sorry, I don’t have time to do “research”, needless to say I’m not too interested in jumping on a band wagon of pointing out the worst in people, and or their lives, beliefs, etc. You might not sound exactly like a Nazi, but someone who’s holding on to something in the past (as everyone does to an extent) and hasn’t let it go, sounds more like an upset teenager.
    On another note, do your parents read your web page? What do they think about it?

    Like

  2. Michael says:

    Hmmm…

    Methinks you are quite right, Natalie. Anyone who can’t read what you have written and don’t have the chutzpah to sign their name to a “flame” are most definitely several burgers short of a happy meal.

    Ignore them, is my best advise. They tend to act like that when their beliefs are challenged and this type of crap is their only means to respond.

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    Natalie, I’m hooked! Keep up the good work. Are you really a product of the Utah public school system? Your stuff seems, well, er, um, good. -“Millie”

    Like

  4. Kundry says:

    Your Friend: “If Mormonism is as bad as you make it out to be, why is it one of the fastest growing religions in the world?”

    Damn, I never looked at it that way! Let’s hear it for smallpox and influenza. Anything that spreads that fast can’t be all bad.

    Like

  5. Anonymous says:

    I agree the writer is a Mormon pretending to be non-Mormon. Only a Mormon thinks that the church is growing fast and only a Mormon would care about it. To the non-Mormon world, the Mormon church is not even a blip on the radar screen. All non-Mormons know is that Mormons leave in Utah and maybe are polygamous.

    Like

  6. Anonymous says:

    Whoops, on that last comment I meant that Mormons _live_ in Utah.

    A Freudian slip, maybe?

    Like

  7. Anonymous says:

    Natalie,
    I have one question for you, I am a non-mormon with young non-mormon children. We are thinking of moving to Utah. My wife feels a little uncomfortable about being an outcast. Do you think we would encounter this

    Like

Leave a Reply

