More about Martha Beck

I know, I know, I already posted on this, but see, there’s this whole FIRESTORM of controversy going on about Martha Nibley Beck and her book, and you all KNOW I love controversy.

I’ve heard some good things, some bad things, some downright nasty things, and some extremely stupid things about her book, almost entirely from people who have not READ said book. Do I REALLY have to take a moment here and tell you all how incredibly stupid that is? People! If you are going to decry something as evil, or wrong, or stupid, or backwards, or whatever else, DO THE RESEARCH. In plain English, READ THE BOOK. Then speak.

I personally did a lot of research before I ever left Mormonism. Being the kind of person I am, I figured that if I was going to claim I did not believe in something, I better be able to tell people WHY I didn’t believe it.

So I researched. A lot. And while I will get about twelve letters from TBMs (true believing Mormons) telling me that the problem was I didn’t PRAY about it, the truth is, I found that LDS claims just don’t hold up. This was even before that pesky DNA evidence came out–you know, the DNA proof that Native Americans were NEVER related to the Jews, along with a whole slew of other DNA evidence that the apologists are currently trying to refute.

Go apologists! More power to you. ANYWAY, my point here was, read the book before you call it bad, or evil, or anything else. I have run across the same problem with my own book. “The author obviously has an axe to grind,” I hear. I don’t own an axe. I have no desire to grind it. I’m just telling a story, and my story isn’t the “all problems are solved by Joe” version you hear from those touting the LDS lifestyle.

Tell me, please, why the LDS think they can tell EVERYONE that their Church is the ONLY TRUE CHURCH, but no one has the right to refute that claim? It’s just like all those missionaries you hear about. Every year, thousands of young men, a passel of young women who are not yet married, and lots of retired people, like my own parents, embark on “missions.” These people have one job. Tell the poor, misguided heathens about God’s one and only true church. Now, while the more than 500 Amazon “reviewers” of the Book of Mormon would like you to believe that it is a “companion” to the Bible, what they don’t say is that Mormons believe they ALONE have the truth. Founder Joseph Smith said that the personages (and pick your vision here. There are at least THREE different versions of it…) who appeared to him told him that all the Christian churches were wrong. God said all the creeds of Christendom “were an abomination in his sight; that those professors were all corrupt; that: ‘they draw near to me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me…” (Joseph Smith History 1:19).

If the LDS faithful have the right to proclaim to everyone who will listen about their truth, so do we, who don’t believe, have the right to proclaim that we DON’T believe and to tell you why.

Is there really a difference?

Oh, perhaps if I just decided I didn’t like Mormonism, because if you take that second m out it becomes “Moronism,” then you could have an “axe to grind” with me.

But that is not what I am claiming. Nor is it what Martha Beck is claiming. She is trying to tell you her story. I, for one, am anxious to read it.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More about Martha Beck

  1. Anonymous says:

    I do not deny your right to believe whatever you want or your right to express it, but aren’t there better ways to spend your time and more important issues in this world to write about? Poverty, hunger, homelessness, disease, orphans, natural disasters, etc. You sound like you have a personal vendetta against Mormons and therefore I question your motives in your writings about them. Let it go and devote your time and your talent to a worthier cause than one of tearing down another’s religion. Look at what is going on in the world around us and make an effort to contribute rather than destroy and criticize.

    Like

Leave a Reply

