It's the RAPTURE, the RAPTURE…

This past weekend we watched a movie called The Forgotten. I’m still trying to figure out what it was about. It starred the lovely Julianne Moore, who was powerful and pale, as always. Gary Sinise was in it, although I still haven’t figured out what his role was. Perhaps he’ll write and let me know. Anyway, in this movie, people are suddenly randomly SUCKED up into the sky, with the force of one of the bank drive-thru thingamajigs. But faster. Really. Sucked up FAST.

Now, after we watched this movie, Cambre said to me, “Mom, I do know what this movie was about.”

“You do?” I asked her.

“Yes.”

“Tell me.”

Now, at this point, she thinks I want her to prove to me that she understood the movie. She has no idea that I want her to explain it to me! We’ll leave it at that.

“It’s about the government.”

Hmmm. I was thinking six-headed space aliens, but I guess the government will do.

The most striking parts of this movie (read: the only things I can remember) are that whole vacuum/suction tube departure from earth.

Is this what the Rapture is like? People are suddenly sucked from the face of the earth and we are left wondering where the hell they went? “Hey, where did Bob go, I just ordered him another drink!”

I was raised Mormon. If you are the last person on the face of the earth, or are reading this blog for the first time, you don’t know this. Otherwise, you are well-informed.

Anyway, for that reason, the whole idea of the Rapture has always been rather foreign to me. Matter of fact, I’d never even HEARD of it up until about five years ago. But I’ve discovered, especially since I “came out” as a former Mormon, that I am ripe pickings for fundamentalist Christians. Having spent my whole life hearing religion at every turn, this truly does not bother me. I’m kinda used to it. I am happy to discuss the Bible, religion, the whole nine yards with you, provided you do not show up at my door handling rattlesnakes, telling me I cannot have a blood transfusion if I am at death’s door, or handing me funny underwear to wear under my clothing.

Nonetheless, growing up Mormon, there are a FEW things you miss out on. I spent a lot of time in my youth waiting for the angel Moroni to blow his horn and Jesus to reappear. I’m ashamed to admit I was not anxious for Jesus to show up again. I kind of liked being a kid, and the thought of living with my God (father) in the kingdom with all his wives and children didn’t sound that great. I was tired of sharing one bathroom with three sisters and a brother!

Anyway, I can’t see that this Rapture is all that different from the Second Coming, when Moroni blows his damn horn.

NOTE TO SELF: One LESS vodka tonic next family movie night…

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It's the RAPTURE, the RAPTURE…

  1. Cece Stuart says:

    but but but…was it any good? LOL

    Like

  2. I’m not sure about the Rapture either. This sounds SO selfish, but I want to see my children grow up, the grandkids, etc., so I hope it’s well after I’m potting soil but it’s not up to me.
    And was the movie good? It was a little weird to me by the previews.
    BTW, snake churches are great for chili cook-offs. Just kidding.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Unlimited Music Downloads

Leave a Reply

