110108562731171354

My Mormon brothers and sisters are kind of irked with me. Of course, by this I don’t mean my LITERAL brothers and sisters. I mean all the Mormons in the world who call each other brother and sisters.

I’ve started getting some email regarding my writing that is, well, less than flattering. I guess I would be bothered by this, except I know that the people mailing me have not read the book. They just don’t like the subject matter.

“I have to tell you that I’m somewhat offended by the content of your Web site. The Church does not work like that at all. It’s probably just a clerical error that you are still listed on church records. The Mormons aren’t trapping you. We celebrate freedom of choice.”

See, I can tell a Mormon wrote this, because it’s not a downright attack. It’s couched in vague, non-offensive terms. Oh, and nobody else cares what I write.

Another one said:

“You realize the consequences of revealing the sacred temple rites, don’t you? How could you betray your church like this?”

Yet another clue this particular Mormon didn’t READ the book. There are no temple scenes in this book, and nothing “sacred” is revealed. As far as betrayal, I’ve done nothing of the sort. I simply told the story of a young girl who is the victim of abuse time and time again, because the powers-that-be refuse to stop the victimizers.

And then there was this one:

“How could you do this to Mom and Dad?”

Oh. Heh. That one actually IS from one of my literal sisters. Still haven’t figured out what it is I did, although she admitted she thought my next book was going to be titled TRAPPED BY THE MORMONS. Not a very good title, if you ask me.

I have to admit it’s become somewhat enjoyable to open up my email and see what’s there.

About Natalie R. Collins

Natalie has more than 30 years writing, editing, proofreading and design experience. She has written 20 books (and counting), has worked for the Sundance Film Festival, and as an investigative journalist, editor, and proofreader. She embraces her gypsy-heart and is following her new free-thinking journey through life. Follow her as she starts over and learns a bunch of life's lessons--some the hard way.
This entry was posted in Natalie's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

